Safeguarding

St Andrew’s Church, Histon safeguards children, young people and vulnerable adults through implementing its Safeguarding Policy which follows the guidance given by the House of Bishops of the Church of England.

The current church safeguarding policy can be downloaded in full here. The policy incorporates two key documents, Promoting a Safer Church which is the House of Bishops Safeguarding Policy Statement and the Parish Safeguarding Handbook. Both of these documents are included in the full policy alongside a short guide to help you navigate your way through. Hard copies of the safeguarding policy are available at the Saint Andrew's Centre in the Upstairs Hall and at St Andrew's Church Stable Room.

The PCC commits to review the safeguarding policy at least annually.

If you have any questions or concerns, please use the contacts listed to the right (contacting the vicar in the first instance).

If you think you or the child or adult is in immediate danger and needs urgent help, please call the police on 999.

Useful Contacts

Vicar:
The Revd Canon James Blandford-Baker
01223 320425
james@standrewshiston.org

Parish Safeguarding Officer:
Rachel McKinley
Tel: 01223 320420
safeguarding@standrewshiston.org

Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser:
Rebecca Boswell
01353 652731
07904 487912 (mobile)
rebecca.boswell@elydiocese.org

Safeguarding Team

Vicar

The Reverend Canon James Blandford-Baker
01223 320425
james@standrewshiston.org

Curate

The Reverend Kieran Douglass 
01223 320426
kieran@standrewshiston.org

Parish Safeguarding Officer

Rachel McKinley 
01223 320420
safeguarding@standrewshiston.org

 

Children and Youth Team Leader

Tim Blake
07905 321901
tim@standrewshiston.org

Youth Minister

Clare Cronin
07565 134309
clare@standrewshiston.org

DBS Administrator

Heather Stone
01223 232369
heathervstone@gmail.com

Church Manager

Jo Roach
01223 320420
office@standrewshiston.org

Churchwarden

Ruth Davies
01223 232514
wardens@standrewshiston.org 

Churchwarden

Mark Strivens
01223 860697
wardens@standrewshiston.org 

Useful Resources

Promoting a Safer Church
House of Bishops Safeguarding Policy Statement
Parish Safeguarding Handbook

Further safeguarding information is available from:
The Church of England
Diocese of Ely